undercover photographer

Happy Sunday morning!

Yesterday I wasn’t able to tune into UT’s first football game of the season…but that doesn’t mean I didn’t get to enjoy a little ‘football’ of my own. Unfortunately, not the American kind. Last night a group of us went out to dinner in Conakry at ‘Le Cedre’ to celebrate a friend’s birthday, I snapped a few photos along the way.

Laws in Conakry are very strict about photography. As is common in West Africa, we are not allowed to photograph any military or government buildings. The problem here is that few of the government buildings are marked. So one minute you are taking a cute photo of children playing in the street, the next minute you are being scolded en Francaise by a man in a red beret. Because the police here tend to give foreigners a hard time over everything this, I usually leave my camera behind.

But last night I was feeling very bold since we were venturing into a non-government building part of town. I decided that if I positioned it just right under my raincoat (p.s. we are in monsoon season) that I could snap pictures without being obvious about it, just in case. Here’s what I got:

nicer on the inside, I promise.

soccer fans cheer from the stands

FC Barcelona, always well represented.

 

I’ll have to cut this post short today, but will share more this week. I have lots to do to get ready for tomorrow (Monday) because it is Screening Day! MS doctors will see hundreds of patients to be considered for surgery and yours truly gets a front row seat. :-)

Hope you all have a wonderful Labor Day. 

with love from Africa,
C

One response

  1. Very cool! I can’t wait to hear about screening day. I’m impressed at your pictures considering you were being so discrete, mine wouldn’t be that talented even with my camera out. Missed you a ton this weekend at the football game!

    Like

Leave a comment:

